Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Faculty Research Interests

Ms. Tashia Caughran-Analytical Chemistry (Oconee)

Lecturer of Chemistry- tashia.caughran@ung.edu

  • Chemical Education
  • Analytical Chemistry with an emphasis in Environmental Science

Dr. Royce Dansby-Sparks - Analytical Chemistry

Associate Professor of Chemistry - royce.dansby-sparks@ung.edu

  • Electrochemistry
    • Ultra-trace metal ion detection methods, catalytic adsorptive stripping analysis, electrochemical quartz crystal microbalance (eQCM)
  • Chemical Sensors
    • Sol-gel based optical sensing, spetroelectrochemical sensing 
  • Array Sensors
    • Multiplexed biosensor arrays for early cancer detection biomarkers 
  • Environmental Analysis

Dr. Brad Herbert - Analytical Chemistry

Professor of Chemistry -brad.herbert@ung.edu

  • Chiral Separations using Capillary Electrophoresis (CE) and Highly Sulfated Cyclodextrins
  • Enantiomeric Rresolution of Transition Metal (TM) Complexes using CE and Tartrate Salts
  • Assessment of Optical Purity of TM Complexes using CE in Conjunction with CD
  • Octanol-water Partition Coefficient Estimation using CE

Dr. Eric Huddleston-Organic Chemistry

Assistant Professor of Chemistry-eric.huddleston@ung.edu

  • Conjugated Polymer Synthesis
    • Surface-Initiated Kumada Catalyst-Transfer Polycondensation
    • Stille Catalyst Transfer Polycondensation
  • Organometallic Chemistry
    • Novel methods in Stille Cross-Coupling Reactions
    • Microwave Assisted Synthesis
  • Chemical Education
    • New Lecture Methods
    • Learning by Teaching
    • Research Methods in Organic Chemistry

Mr. John Kruger - Inorganic Chemistry

Lab Coordinator & Instructor - john.kruger@ung.edu

  • Synthesis and characterization of Microporous Solids
    • Zeolites
    •  Aluminum and Gallium Phosphates
    •  Separation and Catalytic Applications
  • X-ray Techniques
    • X ray Diffraction on Microcrystals of Small Molecules
    • Separation and Catalytic Applications
  • Synthesis and Isolation of Metal Complexes especially those using Cobalt

Dr. John Leyba-Nuclear Chemistry

Professor of Chemistry and Department Head-john.leyba@ung.edu

  • Fast Chemical Separations and Quantification
  • Rapid Complex Matrix Dissolutions
  • Sample Dissolutions Using Green Methodologies
  • Trace Element Detection Using Total Reflection X-Ray Fluorescence Techniques
  • Radiochemical Analyses
    • Alpha Spectroscopy
    • Gamma Ray Spectroscopy

Dr. Ryan Meier - Inorganic Chemistry

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - ryan.meier@ung.edu

  • Organometallic synthesis and catalysis with a focus of replacing precious metal catalysts with compounds using earth abundant metals such as iron, copper, or nickel.

Dr. Paula Nolibos-Analytical Chemistry (Gainesville)

Professor of Chemistry-paula.nolibos@ung.edu

  • Chemical Education
  • Analytical Chemistry-Applications of Chromatography, Spectroscopy

Dr. Andrew Thomas-Analytical Chemistry (Gainesville)

Associate Professor of Chemistry-andrew.thomas@ung.edu

  • Applications of Analytical Chemistry in Chromatography and Spectroscopy
  • Chemical Education

Dr. Dan Thompson- Organic Chemistry

Professor of Chemistry & Instrumental Guru - dan.thompson@ung.edu

  • Organic Synthesis and Characterization
    • Dialkynyl Sulfides
    • Substituted Thiophenes
    • Heterabicyclo[3.3.1]noanes
  • Cyclization of Dialkynyl Sulfides
    • Bioisosteric Ene-diyne mimics
    • Polythiophene Synthesis
  • Colligative Properties by Thermogravimetric Analysis
  • Chemical Education 
    • Spectral Analysis and Instrumentation
    • Research Methods in Organic Chemistry

Dr. Aimee Tomlinson - Physical Chemistry

Associate Professor of Chemistry - aimee.tomlinson@ung.edu

  • Algorithmic Developement
    •  Generation of Faster Codes
    •  Generation of Codes which are able to handle larger systems
  • Circular Dichroism
  • OLED Solar Cells
  • Biological Assemblies
  • Chemical Education
  • Electronic Structure Theory

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top