Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Deleting a Page

Overview

When a page is not being used anymore, it needs to be removed from the web server, otherwise, it will still show up in search engine results and may have old or erroneous information.

It is important to remove or redirect any internal links before deleting a page. You cannot always control external links (where sites outside of Cascade link to your page).

Note: Do not delete index pages unless you will be deleting the entire folder! Read more about why at Creating a New Folder.

Objective:

You will learn the steps to delete a page without breaking internal links.

Is Your Page in a Relationship?

In Cascade, when a page has been linked to or pulled in by another page or block in Cascade, this is called a "relationship."

Instructions

If you delete the page, will links break?

Any time we delete a page we have to take into consideration if there are any other active pages linking to this page. In Cascade we have a way to check internal links via the “Relationships” tab. For external links, such as from Banner or another service, you may need to check via other web services such as Google Analytics.

Check Relationships to the Page (internal links)

  1. In the left panel, click on the page you wish to delete.
Page to be deleted is selected
  1. In the right panel, click the “Relationships” tab.
    1. If there are no relationships listed then you most likely have no internal links to this page.
    2. If you do have any relationships listed, you need to make sure the links are removed or redirected to another page before you delete this page.
      1. Links from pages and/or blocks within your own site: Remove the link or change to point to new location. Let the pages republish.
      2. Links from pages and/or blocks in Cascade sites other than your own: Contact the site editor(s) and/or the web team to ask that the link be removed or indicate new location the link should point to. Let the pages republish overnight.
Relationships tab and one relationship displayed

Delete the page:

  1. In the left panel, click on the page you wish to delete.
  2. In the right panel, click the “More” tab and select “Delete.”

The More tab selected and Delete highlighted

Send to Workflow

  1. Click “Send to Workflow."
  2. At the "Start Workflow" screen, tell us what you did in the "Comments" box. This helps us tremendously in the approval process.
  3. Click "Submit."
The workflow screen with the Comments field.
  • Access to either the training web site or as a web editor to your site.
  • Cascade: Basic I training
  • Access to the Relationships tab

Keep in Mind

  • Be sure all relationships are cleared before deleting the page.

Definitions

  • Relationship: When a block or page refers to another block or page, such as a link to another page.

Summary

Last Updated:

11/10/2015

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top