Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Pre-Medicine Biology Students

Pre-Medicine students commonly major in biology but may choose any major they wish. Pre-Medicine is an academic advisement area. We offer focused advisement by professors who advise other Pre-Medicine students.

Most medical schools require:

  • Letters of recommendation, from “the pre-med advisor” or “the pre-med committee.”  What we send instead is a composite evaluation.  Students interested in applying to any graduate program (not just medical schools) should learn about the composite evaluation and its advantages over a single letter of recommendation.  Pre-meds, in particular, must become familiar with the timetable of the composite evaluation process.
  • You must take certain courses at the right time to be prepared for the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT). Students usually take this at the end of their junior year.

Pre-Medical Biology Student Advisors

Dahlonega Campus

Dr. Frank Corotto
frank.corotto@ung.edu

Dr. Ching-Yu Huang
ching-yu.huang@ung.edu

Dr. Paul Johnson
paul.johnson@ung.edu

Dr. Miriam Segura-Totten
miriam.segura-totten@ung.edu

Dr. Ryan Shanks
ryan.shanks@ung.edu

Dr. Margaret Smith
margaret.smith@ung.edu

Gainesville Campus

Dr. Margi Flood
margi.flood@ung.edu

Dr. John Hamilton
john.hamilton@ung.edu

Dr. Alex Lowrey
alex.lowrey@ung.edu

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top