

2018

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH GEORGIA, GAINESVILLE CAMPUS PRESENTS:

## Student Awards Ceremony and Reception

Wednesday, April 11, noon Cleveland Ballroom Reception to follow in the Robinson Ballroom

### PROGRAM

#### Welcome & Opening Remarks

Dr. Tom Ormond Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

#### Recognition of Honors Societies

Dr. Bill Gash Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

#### **Award Presentations**

College & Departmental Awards

#### Campus-Wide Awards

Dr. Bill Gash Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Stacie Rowley Associate Dean for Student Life Interim Dean of Students

#### **Faculty Awards**

Ms. Michelle McAdams Student Government Association President

#### **Closing Remarks**

Dr. Tom Ormond Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

## AWARDS

#### College of Arts and Letters

Associate Dean Ric Kabat, Presenter

Artistic Service Award Julia Smith

Artistic Excellence Award Lauren Bradshaw

Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Arts in Communication—Public Relations Lindsey Frazier

Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Arts in Communication—Organizational Leadership Dayton Carter

Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Arts in Communication—Multimedia Journalism Viktoria Capek-Grey

Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Science in Film & Digital Media Kaleb Smith (Media Studies), Tylere Brown (Production)

Outstanding Senior English Major in Writing and Publication Concentration Kasey Wheeler

Outstanding Senior English Major in Teaching Certification Tara Heimberger

Outstanding Senior English Major in Literature Concentration Joelma Soares-Sambdman

Tom Deitz Outstanding English Student Haley Shea Barfield

Chestatee Review Editorship, Gainesville Campus Haley Shea Barfield

Outstanding History Student Jessica Brazinski

Outstanding Philosophy Student Caleb Brookshire

Outstanding Political Science Student—Bachelor of Science Alyssa Cross

#### College of Arts and Letters (continued)

Outstanding Political Science Student—Associate of Arts Joshua Jones

Outstanding Psychology Student Jeffrey Yaun

Sociology Student of the Year Roger Long

Outstanding Senior Spanish Student Santa Cepero

Patricia Choquette Award for HSDA Student of the Year Heather Morris

Outstanding Service Award in Theatre Performance Alec Beard

Outstanding Service Award in Technical Theatre Amy Jackson

Outstanding Theatre Student Taylor Priday

#### College of Education

Dean Susan Ayres, Presenter

Outstanding ECE/SPED Major in Gainesville PDC Kaitlin Buffington

Outstanding ECE/SPED Major in the South Hall 1 PDC Amanda Carter

Outstanding ECE/SPED Major in the South Hall 2/ Gwinnett PDC Alexandra Lennox

Outstanding Kinesiology Major with Concentration in Exercise Science (A.S.) Zelma Estrada

Outstanding Kinesiology Major with Concentration in Teacher Certification (P-12) (A.S.)

Trevor Bowman

Outstanding Kinesiology Major with Concentration in Health & Fitness (B.S.) Hannah Crumley

Outstanding Social Foundations of Education Student Frania Cartledge

#### College of Science and Mathematics

Associate Dean John Leyba, Presenter

Mary and Ed Mayhew Outstanding Biology Student Award Joshua Brandon Fuller

Garry McGlaun Outstanding Chemistry Student Morgan Allen, Elizabeth Vences

Outstanding Allied Health Student Award Heidi Grace Martin

Outstanding Physics Student of the Year Melissa Hernandez

Outstanding Engineering Student of the Year Melissa Hernandez

Outstanding Math Student Emily Crawford

Outstanding Poultry Science Student Jordan Brown

Outstanding Poultry Science Freshman Award John Grier

Poultry Science Rising Star Award John Grier

#### Lewis F. Rogers Institute for Environmental and Spatial Analysis

Dr. Jeff Turk, Director of IESA, Presenter

Best Environmental Studies Student in IESA Jessica Stehlin

Outstanding Geography Student Andrew Coleman

Lewis Rogers Outstanding Geology Student Robert Bandemir, Caitlin Flake

Geographic Information Science Student of the Year Jessica Stehlin

#### Mike Cottrell College of Business

#### Dean Donna Mayo, Presenter

BAS Technology Management Excellence Award Christopher Emerson

AA Business Administration Excellence Award Graeme Gentzel

AAS Paralegal Excellence Award Julie Ratton

Accounting Excellence Award Jenna Allen

Certificate in Paralegal Excellence Award Eugene Lee

BAS Paralegal Excellence Award Ahmad Person

Management Excellence Award Grayson Anthony

Marketing Excellence Award Brandy McCroskey

AS Computer Science Excellence Award

Lee Prather

Finance Excellence Award Shaun Duffy

Most Outstanding BBA Student Award Jenna Allen

#### Campus-Wide Awards

Dr. Bill Gash and Ms. Stacie Rowley, Presenters

Most Outstanding Honors Student Abigail English

2018 - 2019 All-Georgia Academic Team John Blessing William Harris

Achievement Award Semifinalists Annah Coker Graeme Gentzel

#### Campus-Wide Awards (continued)

Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Student Semifinalists Jenna Allen Tori Capek-Grey Victoria Maher Jessica Martin Jessica Anne Stehlin

2018 Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Student Winner: Aneta Galazka

Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Semifinalists
Lori Biddulph
Amber Beauchamp
Matthew Byrd
Jemimah Case
Emily Crawford
Aneta Galazka
Jennifer Harris
Christopher "Axel" Jones
Michelle McAdams
Rebecca Pevear

Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Winner: Jessica Martin

#### Faculty and Staff Awards

Ms. Michelle McAdams, Presenter

Advisor of the Year Award Charles Bell

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member Jason Winn

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Full-time Faculty Member Garry Merritt

\*Reception to follow close of ceremony in the Robinson Ballroom. Please join us for refreshments.

# HONORS SOCIETIES 2017-2018 INDUCTEES

#### Phi Kappa Phi

Teresa Arriaga Teri L. Cameron Brandy N. McCroskey Melissa M. Simpson Lindsey R. Smith Nicole A. Stagman Jenny D. Disharoon

#### Phi Theta Kappa

Emily Blankenship Cody Brown Zachary Caudell Deirdre Clark Renee Clement Sophia Culpepper Erik Flores Arzate Alexander Fowler Ching Fu

Ching Fu
Joseph Lee
Alan Luther
Clarissa Majors
Maria Marquez
Jessica Morgan
Matthew Morrow
Umang Naik

Nicholas Poole Corey Roberts Simeon Salia Taylor Seay Kristina Stephens Laura Townley Huan Tran Alejandro Trevino

Miguel Vila
Jessica Vineyard
Ethan Wacker
Richard Walker
Marissa Wilborn
Stacey Wilingham

Thank you to the Office of Research and Engagement and the Office of Student Involvement for providing funding for the programs and reception.

Thank you also to the UNG Flute Ensemble: Angelica Amrozowicz, Rebecca Checkoway, Omar Hernandez, Maria Marquez, Burgundy Wilson, and Kelly Via

If you need this document in an alternate format for accessibility purposes (e.g. Braille, large print, audio, etc.), please contact the University Relations department at university.relations@ung.edu or 706-864-1950.