

2018

University of North Georgia, Oconee Campus Presents:

Student Awards Ceremony and Reception

Thursday, April 12, 2018 6:00- 7:30pm Student Resource Center 522

PROGRAM

Welcome & Opening Remarks

Dr. Tom Ormond Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Award Presentations

Student Involvement

Ms. Lindsay Bailey
Director, Student Involvement

Dr. Michelle Brown Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs Dean of Students, Oconee

College & Departmental Awards

Campus-Wide Awards

Dr. Chris Barnes Associate Dean Academic Administration

Dr. Michelle Brown Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs Dean of Students, Oconee

Faculty Awards

Mr. William Wheeler Student Government Association President

Oconee Scholarship

Dr. Chris Barnes Associate Dean Academic Administration

Closing Remarks

Dr. Tom Ormond Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

AWARDS

Student Involvement Awards

Ms. Lindsay Bailey and Dean Michelle Brown, Presenters

Outstanding Service to the Campus/Community Award: Maria Anifowose

Outstanding Commitment to Diversity & Equity Award: Beth Graham

Excellence in Cultural Engagement Award: Kat Mize & Salina Oak

Outstanding Academic Club Member of the Year: Lauren Cicerchia

Outstanding Nighthawk Spirit Award: Renee Clement

Emerging Student Leader Award: Nicolas Stenland

Best New Event of the Year: S.T.E.P.'s: A Student-Led Discussion on Gun Legislation

Event of the Year: Spring Fling 2017

New Oconee Campus Club 2017-2018: Positive Perspective

Student Involvement Awards Continued

Student Organization of the Year: S.T.E.P. (Students Teaching Equity Programming)

Student Organization Leadership Legacy Award: Student Government Association

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Jacqueline Adams

Student Leader of the Year: William Wheeler

College of Arts and Letters

Assistant Dean Laura Ng, Presenter

Outstanding Student: Communication, Media Studies, and Journalism Caleb Brooks

Outstanding Student: History, Anthropology, and Philosophy Madison Prchal

Outstanding Student: Political Science Daniella Hernandez

Outstanding Student: Psychological Sciences Chanel Miller

Outstanding Fine Arts Student: Jeremy Smith

Outstanding Spanish Student Casey Smith

Outstanding Student: English

Franklin Connor

College of Arts and Letters continued

Outstanding Student: Sociology

Faith Bassett

Simone de Beauvoir Award 2nd Place: Marissa Jones

Honorable Mention: Allison Rogers

College of Education

Assistant Dean Charles Burrage, Presenter

Outstanding Social Foundations of Education Student Madelyn Vaughn

Mike Cottrell College of Business

Interim Associate Dean Dr. Anne Duke, Presenter

Business Administration Excellence Award Steven Myung

College of Science and Mathematics

Assistant Dean Jill Schulze, Presenter

Outstanding Biology Student Samuel Jordan

Outstanding Chemistry Student Edgar Flores

Outstanding Mathematics Student Melody Bowling

Campus Wide Awards

Associate Dean Chris Barnes and Dean Michelle Brown, Presenters

Achievement Award: Collin Barrows

Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Student Award: Taylor Kimsey

Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award: Steven Myung

Certificate of Excellence for Outstanding Leadership Renee Clement

Most Outstanding Honors Program Student Kerstin Thulé

Faculty and Staff Awards

Mr. William Wheeler, Presenter

Academic Advisor of the Year: Brent Allison

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member: Donald Keppner

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Full-time Faculty Member: Josette Ricker

Oconee Campus Scholarship

Associate Dean Chris Barnes, Presenter

TBA



Thank you to the Office of Student Involvement for providing funding for the reception and programs.