

2020

University Of North Georgia, Gainesville Campus Presents:

# Student Awards Ceremony and Reception

Wednesday, April 8
Noon
Cleveland Ballroom
Reception to follow in the Nesbitt 1st floor lobby/patio

# Program

### Welcome & Opening Remarks

Dr. Bonita Jacobs President

### **Recognition of Honors Societies**

Dr. Bill Gash Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

#### **Award Presentations**

College & Departmental Awards

#### Campus-Wide Awards

Dr. Richard Oates Vice President, Gainesville Campus

Dr. James Conneely Vice President for Student Affairs

#### **Faculty Awards**

Jelma Flores-Mota Student Government Association President

## **Closing Remarks**

Dr. Chaudron Gille Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

# AWARDS

# College of Arts and Letters

#### Associate Dean Ric Kabat, Presenter

Outstanding Anthropology Student:

Noah Bryant

Outstanding History Student:

Josh Denton

Outstanding History Education Student:

Sara Turner

Outstanding Philosophy Student:

Matthew Morrow

Outstanding Senior English Major - Writing & Publication:

Shea Barfield

Outstanding Senior English Major - Literature:

Brianna Schantz

Outstanding Senior English Major - English with Education Certification:

Rachel Duke

Tom Deitz Outstanding English Student Award:

Madison Dashner

John Ingrisano Writing Award:

Briana Schantz

Outstanding Psychological Science Student Award:

Jordan Loggins

Psychological Science Student Research Award:

Carl Stokes

Patricia Choquette Outstanding HSDA Student Award:

Miriam Munoz

Sociology Student of the Year Award:

Amy Boone

# College of Arts and Letters Continued

Outstanding Political Science Student at the Bachelor's Degree Level: Naumi Vate

Outstanding Political Science Student at the Associate's Degree Level: Litzy Garcia

Highest GPA of a Graduating Senior in Political Science and International Affairs: Nataly Morales Villa

Most Outstanding Student in Intermediate Spanish: Colson Rivers

Most Promising Student in Spanish:

Ximena Luna

Senior Spanish Academic Achievement Award: Aura Barahona Maradiaga

Service Award for Technical Theatre and Design: Sara Cook

Outstanding Theatre Student:

Nicole Hart

Service Award for Theatre Performance:

Ryan Vander Linde

Distinguished Musician Award:

Tamara Stroup

Instrumental Ensemble Leadership Award:

Matthew Kimbrough

Outstanding Communication Student:

Rachel Norris

Charlotte DeVos

Aaron Martinez

Hannah Chisholm

Outstanding Film and Digital Media Student

Mary Reeves

Gabriela Reyes-Zuniga

George Brandys

Movie Magic Scholarship:

Carly Payne

# College of Education

#### Dean Sheri Hardee, Presenter

#### Department of Elementary and Special Education

Outstanding Elementary/SPED Major in Gainesville PDC: Meredith Talley

Outstanding Elementary/SPED Major in Gwinnett/South Hall 2 PDC: Tyler Hamilton

Outstanding Elementary/SPED Major in South Hall 1 PDC: Emily Mayo

#### Department of Culture, Language and Leadership

Outstanding Social Foundations of Education Student: Anabel Delgado-Gaono

#### Department of Middle Grades, Secondary and Science Education

Outstanding Education Student Award – Master of Arts in Teaching & Post Baccalaureate Santoshia Oggs
David Bragg
Jennifer Fisher
Victoria Shoemake

Outstanding Education Student Award – Secondary Education Major: Cale Duncan Sara Turner Abigail Nelson Sara Meyers

#### Department of Kinesiology

Outstanding Kinesiology Major with Concentration in Health & Fitness: Midian Cruz

Outstanding Kinesiology Major with Concentration in Teacher Certification: Trevor Bowman and Julie Richards

# College of Science and Mathematics

#### Assistant Dean Jill Schulze, Presenter

Mary and Ed Mayhew Outstanding Biology Senior Award: Amber Rittgers

Outstanding Allied Health Student Award: Kaleigh Trejo

Gary McGlaun Chemistry Award: Katherine Marsack

Tim Howell Service Award: Jordan Bachmann

The Outstanding Math Student Award for Associate Degree Students: Wynn Kwiatkowski

The Outstanding Math Student Award for Bachelor Degree Students: Alexander Burr and Robert Haynie

The Outstanding Statistics Student Award: Alexander Burr and Robert Haynie

The Mathematics Achievement Award: Ana Alba

# Lewis F. Rogers Institute for Environmental & Spatial Analysis

Director Jeff Turk, Presenter

Best Environmental Studies Student: Kayla Bonadie

Outstanding Geography Student: Edgar Piraquive and Kirsten Alden

GIS Student of the Year: Owen Smith and Baylea Gaddis

Lewis Rogers Outstanding Geology Student Award: Baylea Gaddis and Matthew Palmer

# Mike Cottrell College of Business

#### Associate Dean Katie Simmons, Presenter

AS Computer Science Excellence Award: Samuel Jackson

AA Business Administration Excellence Award:

Carlie Anderson

Most Outstanding Bachelor of Business Administration Student Award: John Tyler Fields

Accounting Excellence Award:

Chloe Muklevicz

Finance Excellence Award:

Danielle Taormina

Associate of Applied Science in Paralegal Excellence Award:

Breanna Morris

Bachelor of Applied Science in Paralegal Excellence Award:

Vicki Kennedy

Management Excellence Award:

Juan Roberto Velasquez Tercero

Marketing Excellence Award:

Eduardo Jimenez

Bachelor of Science in Technology Management Excellence Award:

Michael Duttweiler

Professional Development Excellence Award:

Jesse Carrillo

# Campus-Wide Awards

#### Vice President Richard Oates and Dr. James Conneely, Presenters

Most Outstanding Honors Student:

Holly Johnson

Simone de Beauvoir Award:

Amy Boone

Newman Civic Fellow:

Katherine Torres

Academic Recognition Day Scholar:

John Blessing

Achievement Award:

TBA

Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Semifinalists:

Julie Higbee

Kristie Kiser

Aaron J. Martinez

Tami Stroup

Brandon White

Terry Wright

Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Student Semifinalists:

Nathan Clement

Garrett Davis

# Faculty and Staff Awards

Jelma Flores-Mota, President of SGA, Presenter

Advisor of the Year Award:

**TBA** 

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member:

**TBA** 

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Full-time Faculty Member:

**TBA** 

\*Reception to follow close of ceremony in the Nesbitt 1st floor lobby/patio. Please join us for refreshments.

# Honors Societies 2019-2020 Inductees

### Phi Kappa Phi

Tyler J. Avret Robert C. Blanc Dr. Jameson Brewer Donna M. Caldwell Rachael Cotton Mikalah B. Crymes Dr. Chaudron Gille Rachel Lindsey Molly Jane Martin Dr. Steven F. McLeod Holly A. Reed

## Phi Theta Kappa

Alissa Adams
Mary Adams
Carlie Anderson
Rebecca Bennett
Lori Biddulph
Amy Boone
Aaron Brock
Catlin Corrales
Alexa Davis
Joshua Denton
Stephen Gifford
Anneliese Hack
Rachel Lindsey
Diana Mancilla
Madelyn Martin

Haley McBratnie
Lauren McCaleb
Aleksandra Parkinson
Jacob Phillips
Elizabeth Richards
Amanda Shook
David Sotelo Gonzalez
Lesli Tillman
Brittany Troup
Karlie Upshaw
Sarah Vancea
Brantley Waters
Landon Watts
Benjamin Williams



Thank you to the UNG student musicians: Ashley Murcia and Nicholas Henderson