# UNIVERSITY of NORTH GEORGIAM

# 2020

University Of North Georgia, Oconee Campus Presents:

## Student Awards Ceremony and Reception

Thursday, April 9 6:30 - 7:30pm Student Resource Center 522 Reception to follow in The Atrium

## Program

#### Welcome & Opening Remarks

Dr. Bonita Jacobs President

### Award Presentations

#### Student Involvement

Mr. Miles Johnson Coordinator of Student Involvement

Dr. Michelle Brown Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs Dean of Students, Oconee

#### College & Departmental Awards

#### **Campus-Wide Awards**

Dr. Cyndee Moore Executive Director, Oconee Campus

Ms. Allison Naidoo 2019 Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Award Winner

#### **Faculty Awards**

Ms. Kathleen Sprow Student Government Association President

#### **Closing Remarks**

Dr. Chaudron Gille Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs



## Student Involvement Awards

Mr. Miles Johnson and Dr. Michelle Brown, Presenters

New Registered Student Organizations 2019-2020: Judo Club Students for a Sensible Drug Policy Dungeons & Dragons Club

Best Collaborative Campus Event Night of Nations

Best New Event Goat Yoga

Event of the Year Fall Carnival

Student Organization Leadership Legacy Award Student Government Association

Student Organization of the Year Spectrum

Student Organization Advisor of the Year Louis Hajosy

Outstanding Service to the Campus Community Maria Anifowose

## Student Involvement Awards Continued

Outstanding Commitment to Diversity & Equity Award Damien Helms

Excellence in Cultural Engagement Award Maria Anifowose

Outstanding Academic Club Member of the Year Vanessa Garcia

Outstanding Nighthawk Spirit Award Houstoun Hall

Emerging Student Leader Award Damien Helms

Student Leader of the Year Kathleen Sprow

Unsung Hero Award Serena Deonarain

## College of Arts and Letters

#### Assistant Dean Laura Ng, Presenter

Outstanding Student: Communication, Media Studies, and Journalism Laura Williams

Outstanding Student: English Sydney Graham

Outstanding Student: History, Anthropology, and Philosophy Riley Hefner

Outstanding Student: Political Science Stephanie Vogel

Outstanding Student: Psychological Sciences Savannah Strozier

## College of Arts and Letters continued

Outstanding Student: Fine Arts Isabelle Freed

Outstanding Student: Spanish Jacqueline Ocon

Outstanding Student: Sociology Jenna Pulliam

## **College of Education**

Dean Sheri Hardee, Presenter

Outstanding Social Foundations of Education Student Vanessa Silis

## Mike Cottrell College of Business Dr. Anne Duke, Presenter

Business Administration Excellence Award Dylan Miller

## **College of Science and Mathematics** Interim Associate Dean Jill Schulze, Presenter

Outstanding Biology Student Anamarie McDaniel

Outstanding Chemistry Student Samantha Wolf

Outstanding Mathematics Student Scott Conner

## Lewis F. Rogers Institute for Environmental and Spatial Analysis

#### Dr. Melissa Hopkinson, Presenter

Environmental Studies Student of the Year: Michael Porter

Geography Student of the Year: Clarence Brookins-Jackson

## Campus Wide Awards

#### Dr. Cyndee Moore & Ms. Allison Naidoo, Presenters

Recognition of Honors Societies

Most Outstanding Honors Program Student: Joanae Grant

Achievement Award: Daniel D'Huyvetters

Clark Theodore Outstanding Traditional Student Award: Ariana Crane

Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award: Maria Anifowose

## Faculty and Staff Awards

## Ms. Kathleen Sprow, Presenter

Academic Advisor of the Year: Stephanie Rountree

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member: Mike Childs

Ann Matthews Purdy Outstanding Full-time Faculty Member: Kasi Ives

## Honors Societies 2019-2020 Inductees

## Phi Kappa Phi

Tyler J. Avret Robert C. Blanc Dr. Jameson Brewer Donna M. Caldwell Rachael Cotton Mikalah B. Crymes

## Phi Theta Kappa

Alissa Adams Mary Adams Carlie Anderson Rebecca Bennett Lori Biddulph Amy Boone Aaron Brock Catlin Corrales Alexa Davis Joshua Denton Stephen Gifford Anneliese Hack Rachel Lindsey Diana Mancilla Madelyn Martin Dr. Chaudron Gille Rachel Lindsey Molly Jane Martin Dr. Steven F. McLeod Holly A. Reed

Haley McBratnie Lauren McCaleb Aleksandra Parkinson Jacob Phillips Elizabeth Richards Amanda Shook David Sotelo Gonzalez Lesli Tillman Brittany Troup Karlie Upshaw Sarah Vancea Brantley Waters Landon Watts Benjamin Williams

# UNIVERSITY of NORTH GEORGIAM

If you need this document in an alternate format for accessibility purposes (e.g. Braille, large print, audio, etc.), please contact University Relations at university relations@ung.edu or 706- 864-1950.