Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Provost selected for Board of Trustees of SACS Commission on Colleges

Dr. Patricia L. Donat, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at the University of North Georgia (UNG), has been named to the Board of Trustees for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) Commission on Colleges.

Dr. Patricia Donat

SACS is the Southeast's recognized accrediting organization for higher education. The 77 members of the Board of Trustees are responsible for helping to establish commission policy and reviewing and taking action on the accreditation of institutions.

Donat's nomination was approved at the group's 2013 annual meeting, held Dec. 7-10 in Atlanta. Since 2002, Donat has served SACS as a peer evaluator, member of the annual meeting planning committee, reporter reviewer, off-site and on-site reviewer, and a member of the committee to revise Resource Manual for the Principles of Accreditation.

"I am honored to serve as a member of the Board," Donat said. "I believe that the peer review process is essential to maintaining academic quality and integrity in higher education." 

Prior to being named UNG provost in 2013, Donat served as associate vice president and then vice president for academic affairs at the former North Georgia College & State University; she also previously held administrative positions at Mississippi University for Women from 1998 to 2008. Donat earned a bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Northern Iowa, where she graduated with highest honors, and master's and doctoral degrees in psychology from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She has published several papers and presentations in the areas of higher education and psychology.

Donat is a member of several professional organizations, including the American Psychological Association, Southeastern Psychological Association, where she served as president in 2010, Psi Chi, Phi Kappa Phi, Omicron Delta Kappa. She is president of the Dahlonega Rotary Club and participated in Leadership Lumpkin County in 2009-2010.

Accreditation by the Commission on Colleges requires an institution – whether public, private or for-profit – to comply with established standards in the Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement and with the policies and procedures of the Commission on Colleges.

The other members of the Board of Trustees from Georgia are:  Robert G. Boehmer, president, East Georgia State College, delegation chairman; Trina B. Boteler, executive vice president, Marietta Campus, Chattahoochee Technical College; Stephen R. Briggs, president, Berry College; Michael A. Gerber, president, Cross Channel Initiatives, public representative; Timothy S. Mescon, president, Columbus State University; and Edward L. Schrader, president, Brenau University, Gainesville.

Last December, SACS approved the prospectus to create UNG through the consolidation of the former Gainesville State College and North Georgia College & State University. Both schools had previously been SACS-accredited institutions.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top