Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Debate team posts wins against Morehouse, Mercer

Members of the University of North Georgia Debate Team pose with awards won in the Jacobs Petrel Debate Classic, held Feb. 1 at the University of North Georgia's Gainesville Campus.

The University of North Georgia (UNG) Debate Team achieved unprecedented success at the Jacobs Petrel Debate Classic held on Feb. 1 at the Martha T. Nesbitt Academic Building at UNG's Gainesville Campus.

UNG won first place in the sweepstakes, taking the overall tournament against teams from Lenoir-Rhyne University, Morehouse College, Piedmont College, Oglethorpe University, and Mercer University.

In the novice debate category, Cristian Ramos and Brissa Lopez won the team award.

Other awards won by UNG include:

Varsity Debate: Anthony Harden and Robert Johnson, first place; Corey Coffey and Joshua Keith, semifinalists; Maria Palacios and Fernando Gonzalez, Andre Gonzales and Ashlee Rose, and Destin Murphy and Cale Hatch, quarterfinalists.

Novice Debate: Abigail Word and Darrelyn Thomas, second place; Taylor Robinson and Gabriela Batista, semifinalists; and Justin Franklin and Matthew McElveen, Pablo Picazo and Chase Yarbrough, and Ryan Little Eagle Molina and Joe Perez, quarterfinalists.

Winning Team Award Novice Debate: Cristian Ramos and Brissa Lopez.

Individual awards, Varsity Debate: Anthony Harden, 1st Place Speaker Award; Robert Johnson, 3rd Place Speaker Award; Consepcion Rodriguez, 4th Place Speaker Award; Corey Coffey, 5th Place Speaker Award; Andre Gonzales, 7th Place Speaker Award; Ashlee Rose, 8th Place Speaker Award; Josh Keith, 10th Place Speaker Award.

Individual awards, Novice Debate: Pablo Picazo, 2nd Place Speaker Award; Justin Franklin, 3rd Place Speaker Award; Taylor Robinson, 4th Place Speaker Award; Darrelyn Thomas, 5th Place Speaker Award; Matthew McElveen, 6th Place Speaker Award; Ryan Little Eagle Molina, 10th Place Speaker Award.

Fernando Gonzalez is the president of the UNG Debate Club in Gainesville, and Destin Murphy is president of the UNG Debate Club in Dahlonega. Tom Preston, professor of communication, media, and journalism, advises both clubs and coaches the unified UNG Debate Team derived from the clubs.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top