Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

UNG Debate team on a win streak

The University of North Georgia (UNG) Debate Team won the overall award at the prestigious Mardi Gras Debate Tournament held Feb. 28-March 2 at Louisiana State University. The victory marks the second first-place award at a tournament for UNG, and for the second consecutive tournament, UNG took home first-place debate team honors, and the top speaker award.

The UNG Debate Team
The University of North Georgia Debate Team

Thirty-two colleges and universities participated, with 21 schools competing for the overall award.

Fernando Gonzalez and Maria Palacios won the first-place debate, winning on a 2-1 decision in the final round over a team from McNeese State University.

Two teams, Destin Murphy and Cale Hatch and Gabriela Batista and Taylor Robinson, made it to the semifinalists’ debate.

Teams Ryan Little Eagle Molina and Joe Perez, Cristian Ramos and Tyler Williams, Pablo Picazo-Garcia and Chase Yarbrough, and Anthony Harden and Corey Coffey made it to the quarterfinalists’ debate.

Harden won the First Place Speaker Award, and Gonzalez won the Second Place Speaker Award.

The next tournament for the UNG Debate Team is the Pi Kappa Delta National Tournament in Indianapolis, Ind. March 20-23.

Dr. Tom Preston, professor of communication, is the advisor for the UNG Debate Team.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top