Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Employees honored for service, retirement

2014 Service Awards
Stephen Smith, Robin Webber, Jason Pruitt, Suzanne McCarter, and Robert Fuller received recognition for 20 years of service to the university.

To recognize the loyalty and years of service given by faculty, staff and retirees, the University of North Georgia honored those who have reached milestones during their tenures and those who retired during the 2013-2014 academic year. Ceremonies were held April 29 on UNG's Dahlonega Campus and May 1 on the Gainesville Campus.

Wesley Thomas, associate dean of student involvement, received recognition for the longest span of service to the university at 35 years.

"I came back to North Georgia after finishing graduate school because it is such a hard place to leave," Thomas said. "It's been wonderful to watch it grow over the years."

Drs. Jacobs and Sharma

UNG President Bonita Jacobs congratulates Dr. JB Sharma on his 25

years of service to the university.

Dr. JB Sharma, assistant head of the department of physics and chairman of UNG's Strategic Planning Steering Committee, was honored for 25 years of service.

"Decades can pass by in the blinking of an eye, especially if you are having fun," Sharma said. "I have stayed with our institution because of wonderful colleagues, students and community bonds."

Seventy-six faculty and staff were recognized for five years of service. Twenty-seven were recognized for 10 years of service. To view these faculty and staff, click here.

For 15 years of service, the university recognized: Toni Barnett, Michelle Gilstrap, Markus Hitz, Glenn Jones, Gail Emmett, James Konzelman, Angela Megaw, Michael Ryan, Ashraf Mady, Dovie McEntire, Kim Melton, Michael Powell, and Lynn Saine.

For 20 years of service, UNG recognized Stuart Beaman, Frank Sherwood, Wendy Thellman, Carl Cavalli, Martha Fauscett, Robert Fuller, Victoria McCard, Suzanne McCarter, Patricia Nodine, Jason Pruitt, Stephen Smith, Daryl Truelove, and Robin Webber.

For 25 years of service, UNG recognized Sharma, Brenda Adams, Brian Kline, Jeffrey Boatfield, James Chesnut, Elaine Hummel, and Martha Merritt.

Dr. Joe Chapman was honored for 30 years of service.

Retirees honored during the ceremonies included Jacqueline Leeper, Carl McDonald, Mike Stapleton, Nancy Cyr, Sheila Noah, Syed Ahmed, James Chesnut, Dwain Gilreath, Rebecca Schacht, David Reid, Leo Downing, Claud Elliott, Cathryn Copeland, Toni Bellon, Katheryn Hunt, Susan Daniell, Mary Mayhew, William Strickland, and Delbert Greear.

Also honored during the Dahlonega Campus ceremony was Sally Kelly, who was recognized for her 25 years of service to the university’s Department of Military Science as a civil service employee.

"I have never seen someone make so many positive contributions to an organization as Sally has made to our university," said COL Todd Wilson, professor of military science at UNG.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top