Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

College recognizes outstanding faculty with professorships

The University of North Georgia's Mike Cottrell College of Business has announced six new professorship recipients. The professorships, established to recognize professors for their work in and out of the classroom, include the Lee Anderson Professorship, Dillard Munford Professorship, and Cottrell Faculty Scholar.

The Lee Anderson chair/professorship in business administration was established in December 1985 in memory of Joseph Lee Anderson, a prominent Lumpkin County businessman and national leader in the poultry industry. The professorship was established through Anderson's family and the Anderson Trust to attract and retain outstanding faculty. Dr. T.J. Gabriel, associate professor of management, Dr. Elisabeth Teal, associate professor of management, and Dr. Jianjun (James) Yang, assistant professor of computer science, were selected this summer.

The Dillard Munford chair/professorship in business was created in 1986 by Atlanta businessman Dillard Munford and then-North Georgia College Foundation to attract and retain faculty with an earned doctorate from a major university and practical business experience. Dillard Munford was the former chairman of Munford Inc., a convenience store chain that operated 600 Majik Market stores at the time it was sold in 1988. Dr. Yongseung (Stanley) Han, assistant professor of economics, and Dr. Maryna Murdock, assistant professor of finance, were selected this summer.

The Cottrell Faculty Scholar professorship is new this year, and is awarded to a faculty member who has excelled in academic research in their field of study. Mike Cottrell is a leading entrepreneur in the north Georgia region. Today, Cottrell Inc. is the number one manufacturer and marketer of over-the-road car haulers in the world. Mike and Lynn Cottrell made a gift of $10 million to initiate UNG's first-ever capital campaign and to support the university’s educational mission. Dr. John Yeoman, associate professor of finance, was honored as Cottrell Faculty Scholar this summer.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top