Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Faculty, staff awards recognize excellence

In upcoming ceremonies planned at the University of North Georgia, President Bonita Jacobs and university administrators will recognize faculty and staff for their professional achievements and their contributions to the university's success. Ceremonies are planned for Oct. 31 in Gainesville, Nov. 7 in Oconee and Nov. 10 in Dahlonega.

Awards to be announced include 20 Presidential Innovation Awards of up to $5,000 each, six Presidential Summer Scholar Awards of up to $10,000 each and six Presidential Semester Scholar Awards of up to $25,000 each. Now in its second year, the internal grant program sponsors meaningful research and scholarly and creative activities and encourages academic innovations and partnerships.

UNG's Center for Teaching, Learning, and Leadership (CTLL) offers faculty and staff awards to recognize excellence in teaching and learning, engagement, and emerging leadership. While these awards do not carry a monetary stipend, they are an acknowledgment of exceptional accomplishments and contributions to UNG. The awards include the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to one UNG faculty member each year to recognize excellence in teaching over the course of a distinguished career.

Other faculty awards to be presented by CTLL include the Teaching Excellence Award, Best Practices in Service Learning Award, Fostering Engagement Award, and Emerging Leader Award.

During the ceremonies, recipients of the North Star Award, which recognizes meaningful accomplishments of UNG employees who embody the university's standards for excellence, efficiency and outstanding customer service, will be recognized. Recipients receive a star lapel pin and a certificate.

The Eleanor Crawford Award, named for the first staff member employed when the former
Gainesville Junior College was chartered in 1964, also will be presented. The award recognizes staff members for extraordinary loyalty, dedication and service to the university, their fellow employees and students.

Other staff awards to be presented include recognition from the UNG Staff Council of the staff members of the month and of the year.

During the ceremonies, faculty members earning tenure and promotion also will be recognized.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top