Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Faculty, staff, retirees honored at UNG Service Awards ceremony

The University of North Georgia (UNG) held Retirement and Service Award ceremonies recently to recognize the loyalty and years of service by faculty and staff.

Ceremonies were held April 15 on the Dahlonega Campus and April 16 on the Gainesville Campus for those who have reached milestones of service and those who retired during the 2014-2015 academic year.

David Morris, an associate professor of accounting, and Kathleen Simmons, associate dean of the Mike Cottrell College of Business, were honored for 30 years of service.

"I certainly didn't expect to stay here for 30 years when I began in fall 1984," Simmons said. "What motivates me to come to work every day are the wonderful people that make up our university. It has been a pleasure teaching our students and working with a variety of colleagues, both faculty and staff, over the years — I've met all the people whose names grace the buildings on the Gainesville Campus."

Morris said he has stayed because he loves the school, the students and teaching.

"This school and community has been a great place to raise my family. I am very thankful to be working at this school and to live in such a wonderful community as Dahlonega," he said.

For 25 years of service, UNG recognized Beatriz Chapman, Laurie Davis, David Johnston, Jacquelyne Mauldin, Kimberly Savage, and Tom Walter.

For 20 years of service, UNG recognized Walter Beck, Susan Brandenburg-Ayres, Steven Brehe, Michelle Brown, Stephanie Burson, Diane Cook, Elayne Dowdy, Susann Doyle-Portillo, Catherine Gille, Beata Hebda, Kelies Hicks, Heather Howington, Edward Morgan, Leora Myers, Jason Ponders, Richard Prior, Kenneth Reese, Thomas Temples, M Dan Thompson, Barbara Tritt, Harold Turk, Dana Turner, and John Yeoman. 

Additionally, 23 individuals were recognized for 15 years of service; 44 for 10 years of service and 72 faculty and staff were recognized for five years of service. Retirees honored during the ceremonies included Mary Hummel, Cynthia Pelfrey, Jimmy Lee Berry, Cindy Truelove, Ann Reed, Kathy Rich, Julio E. Canseco, Maryellen Cosgrove, Bruce Howe, Victoria McCard, Royce Allen Delong, Donny Grizzle, and Joy D. Evans.

To see a full list of those honored during the ceremony, please click here.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top