Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Awards ceremonies to recognize faculty and staff excellence

Fac staff awards preview 2015
Bookstore Manager Laurie Davis congratulates Anna Gillespie as Staff Employee of the Year for the Oconee Campus 2013-14.

In three ceremonies planned at University of North Georgia (UNG) campuses, President Bonita Jacobs and university administrators will recognize faculty and staff for their professional achievements and contributions to UNG's success. The events are planned for Oct. 28 on the Oconee Campus, Oct. 30 on the Dahlonega Campus, and Nov. 2 on the Gainesville Campus.

UNG's Center for Teaching, Learning, and Leadership (CTLL) offers faculty and staff awards to recognize excellence in teaching and learning, engagement, and emerging leadership. While these awards do not carry a monetary stipend, they acknowledge exceptional accomplishments and contributions to UNG. The awards include the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to one UNG faculty member each year to recognize excellence in teaching over the course of a distinguished career.

Other faculty awards to be presented by CTLL include the Teaching Excellence Award, Best Practices in Service Learning Award and Emerging Leader Award. There will also be awards presented by UNG's Center for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities and the department of Distance Education & Technology Integration.

During the ceremonies, recipients of the North Star Award, which recognizes meaningful accomplishments of UNG employees who embody the university's standards for excellence, efficiency and outstanding customer service, will also be recognized. Recipients receive a star lapel pin and a certificate.

The Eleanor Crawford Award, named for the first staff member employed when the former Gainesville Junior College was chartered in 1964, also will be presented. The award recognizes staff members for extraordinary loyalty, dedication and service to the university, their fellow employees and students.

Other staff awards to be presented include recognition from the UNG Staff Council of the staff members of the month and of the year.

During the ceremonies, faculty members earning tenure and promotion also will be recognized.

The Oconee Campus ceremony will be held from 3 to 4 p.m. in the Student Resource Center, room 522. The Dahlonega Campus ceremony will be held from noon to 1 p.m. in the Dining Hall Banquet Room. The Gainesville Campus ceremony will be held from noon to 1 p.m. in the Martha T. Nesbitt Building, room 3110.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top