Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Faculty and staff recognized for excellence

Gail Barksdale (left) receives the Presidential Excellence Award from UNG President Bonita C. Jacobs (right) during the annual Faculty-Staff Awards Ceremony, held Nov. 3, 4 and 7 on UNG’s Oconee, Dahlonega and Gainesville campuses.

President Bonita C. Jacobs and university administrators recognized faculty and staff of the University of North Georgia (UNG) for their professional achievements and contributions to UNG's success in three ceremonies held Nov. 3, 4 and 7.

Each year, UNG's Center for Teaching, Learning, and Leadership (CTLL) presents faculty and staff awards to recognize excellence in teaching and learning, engagement, and emerging leadership. While these awards do not carry a monetary stipend, they acknowledge exceptional accomplishments and contributions to UNG. The awards include the Distinguished Teaching Award, given to one UNG faculty member each year who has demonstrated excellence in teaching over the course of a distinguished career. This year's award was presented to Dr. Miriam Segura-Totten, professor of biology.

Other faculty awards presented by CTLL include the Teaching Excellence Award, Best Practices in Service Learning Award and Emerging Leader Award. There were also awards presented by UNG's Center for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities and the department of Distance Education & Technology Integration.

"It's important that we take time each year to recognize those employees whose efforts embody the university's standards for excellence, efficiency and outstanding service to our students, other faculty and staff members and the larger community as a whole," said Ron Graves, manager of employee programs and communications. "Those efforts have a significant impact on growing our students into tomorrow's leaders. Each one of these individuals deserve our thanks for their contribution to the continued success of UNG."

During the ceremonies, recipients of the North Star Award, which recognizes meaningful accomplishments of UNG employees who embody the university's standards for excellence, efficiency and outstanding customer service, were also recognized. This year there were 75 recipients, all of whom received a star lapel pin and a certificate.

The Eleanor Crawford Award, named for the first staff member employed when the former Gainesville Junior College was chartered in 1964, was also presented. The award recognizes staff members for extraordinary loyalty, dedication and service to the university, their fellow employees and students. This year's recipients were Melissa Adams of the Department of Academic Advising on the Oconee Campus, Gail Barksdale of the Department of Learning Support on the Gainesville Campus, and Jan Burt of the Department of Teacher Education on the Dahlonega Campus.

Other recognition during the ceremonies included presentations from the UNG Staff Council of the staff members of the month and of the year. Staff members of the year included Lisa Bendin of the Department of Enrollment Management from the Cumming Campus, Matt Bergeron of the Department of Information Technology from the Dahlonega Campus, and Shannon Shockley, administrative assistant to the vice president on the Gainesville Campus.

During the ceremonies, faculty members earning tenure and promotion were also recognized. For those and other awards and awardees, please view the complete list.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top