Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

NISTS hosts 12th annual conference in Atlanta

(March 21, 2014) The National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students (NISTS), which is based at the University of North Georgia's Dahlonega Campus, recently hosted its 12th annual conference in Atlanta.

Designed for higher education professionals from a variety of functional areas, institutional types, systems, and sectors, NISTS annual conferences are the only national forums that comprehensively address transfer research, policy and practice. Participants are provided an immersive experience, reaching beyond the "whats" and "whys" to the "hows" of improving transfer practice, policy and culture.

Highlights from the conference included multiple opportunities to learn about the Council for the Advancement of Standard in Higher Education's (CAS) Standards for Transfer Student Programs and Services; extended educational sessions targeting seasoned transfer professionals; re-conference workshops designed for individuals new to the transfer profession; and dedicated time for participants to provide input on several new projects currently under development.

Also during the conference, NISTS presented the inaugural Bonita C. Jacobs Transfer Champion Award to five individuals who have demonstrated exceptional advocacy and leadership in the transfer fields.

The Transfer Champion Award, named for NISTS founder and current University of North Georgia President Bonita Jacobs, is given in recognition of an individual or individuals who have demonstrated exceptional advocacy and leadership in the development and implementation of transfer-focused activities that have made a significant contribution to the improvement of transfer student access, persistence and success. The award is presented based on the nominee’s commitment over time to transfer student success as demonstrated by involvement at the institution, state, regional, and/or national level.

Those receiving the award were: G. Christopher Belle-Isle of Monroe Community College; F. Denise Geisbers of Pacific University; Karlyn Koh of LaGuardia Community College, City University of New York; Jane Rex Appalachian of State University; and Rose Rojas of Maricopa Community College District.

Other awards presented during the event included the 2013-2014 Barbara K. Townsend Dissertation of the Year Award, given to Dr. Robin LaSota for her dissertation "Factors and Practices that Influence Students' Upward Transfer to Bachelor's Degree Programs." LaSota is a post-doctoral research associate with the Office of Community College Research and Leadership at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The 2014 NISTS Research Grant award winner was Lisa White, coordinator of student transfer at Indiana University, for her research "Waiting to Happen: Understanding the Implications for Four-Year Admissions Deferral Practices on Inadmissible Students Following Community College Enrollment."

The National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students is a research, education and service entity that strives to improve the lives of transfer students by supporting those who directly serve these students, as well as those who create transfer policy and conduct transfer-related research.


Edie Rogers
Social Media Manager

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top