Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Title IX, Coordinators and Their Roles

The Title IX coordinator and deputies seek first and foremost to ensure that the victim is safe, and that the campus community is protected. They will meet with the victim of the reported sexual misconduct.

The Title IX coordinator and deputies are trained in college sexual misconduct and will provide expert and empathetic counsel.

When to Contact a Title IX Coordinator or Deputy

  • If you wish to understand your options if you think you may have encountered sex discrimination or sexual misconduct.
  • If you learn of a situation that you feel may warrant a university investigation.
  • If you need help on how to handle a situation by which you are indirectly affected.
  • If you seek guidance on possible informal remedies or administrative measures to de-escalate or alleviate a difficult situation.
  • If you have questions about the university’s policies and procedures.

What is Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (20 U.S.C. § 1681) provides that no person shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

Examples of What Title IX Prohibits

The following are examples of types of sex-based discrimination prohibited by Title IX:

  • Sexual harassment, including sexual assault, occurring in connection with any academic, athletic
  • Extracurricular, or other university program, regardless of the location
  • Discriminatory decision-making by a supervisor of an employee based on the employee's sex
  • Failure to provide equitable opportunity for participation in intercollegiate sports
  • Disproportionate awards of athletic scholarships
  • Pursuant to Title IX and its regulations (34 C.F.R. Part 106), the University of North Georgia's (UNG) Title IX Coordinator is the designated university official with primary responsibility for coordinating the university's compliance with Title IX and other federal and state laws and regulations relating to sex-based discrimination

Title IX Coordinator Duties

  • Promotes the creation of policies, procedures and notifications designed to ensure university compliance with Title IX
  • Oversees implementation of compliance procedures, including investigation and disposition of complaints
  • answers questions and provides guidance about Title IX compliance and the university's related policies and procedures
  • Acts as liaison to the state and federal agencies that enforce Title IX
  • Helps ensure the campus community and university employees with Title IX compliance responsibilities are adequately trained and educated
  • Monitors all other aspects of the university's Title IX compliance

Title IX Coordinator and Deputy Coordinators

Person Role Campus Location Email
David Marling Title IX Coordinator DAH Downtown Office Bldg. 111 david.marling@ung.edu
Alyson Paul Deputy Coordinator - Title IX GVL Student Center 205 alyson.paul@ung.edu
Darren Martin Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Downtown Office Bldg. darren.martin@ung.edu
Mary Rob Plunkett Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Memorial Hall Maryrob.Plunkett@ung.edu
Stacie Rowley Deputy Coordinator - Title IX GVL Student Center stacie.rowley@ung.edu
Michelle Brown Deputy Coordinator - Title IX OCN Administration michelle.brown@ung.edu
Kelly Manley Deputy Coordinator - Title IX OCN Faculty Center kelly.manley@ung.edu
Misty McDonald Title IX Investigator DAH Downtown Office Bldg. 114 Misty.McDonald@ung.edu
Blake Podsen Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Memorial Hall 120 Blake.Podsen@ung.edu
Brandi Williams Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Stewart 365 brandi.williams@ung.edu
Derrick Holmes Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Stewart 361 derrick.holmes@ung.edu
Kelly McFaden Deputy Coordinator - Title IX DAH Dunlap 212D kelly.mcfaden@ung.edu

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top