Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Staff Council Committees

Executive Committee


Kasi Ives


Kate Turner

Blue Ridge Campus

Lisa Terrene, Vice Chair
Melanie Cantrell, Secretary

Cumming Campus

Amanda Smith, Vice Chair
Beth Collins, Secretary

Dahlonega Campus

Sherry Parker, Vice Chair
Haley McDaniel, Secretary

Gainesville Campus

Debbie Krewson, Vice Chair

Oconee Campus

Adan Diaz, Vice Chair
Sarah Gilbert, Secretary

Welcome Committee

The Welcome Committee members’ duties will include maintaining regular contact with Human Resources to ascertain new staff members, arranging the distribution of the welcome gift, and notes of welcome to new staff members.

Committee member duties: greet new staff hires-and hand out welcome gifts

Committee Members:
Sherry Boatfield - Chair 
Rosie Johnson
Derek Leonard
Ronda Dowell
Rosamarie Gennuoso

Jorge Hernandez-Cervantes
Beth Brock
Adan Diaz
Amanda Smith
Melanie Cantrell

*Non-Voting Members

Public Relations Committee

The Public Relations (PR) committee helps promote Staff Council activities, events, and achievements of the council via advertisements and announcements.  The committee will work closely with other council committees to facilitate consistency of promotional efforts. The committee is also responsible for maintaining the official communications of the Staff Council, including, but not limited to, the webpage and display board.

Committee member duties: promote Staff Council events-and keep website updated with current news and information

Committee Members:
Ronda Dowell - Chair 
Tyler Quackenbush - Chair
Mary Owens
Haley McDaniel

Sabrina Wall
Sarah Gilbert

*Non-Voting Members

Staff Awards Committee

The Staff Awards Committee establishes and oversees the criteria, selection process, and awarding of Staff Council's Outstanding Staff Member Award and the Staff Member of the Month program.

Committee member duties: receive and review nominations and determine monthly winners for Dahlonega and Gainesville and quarterly winners for Oconee/Cumming/Blue Ridge

Committee Members:
Derek Leonard
Rosie Johnson
Candace Lovell

Adan Diaz
Amanda Smith
Lisa Terrene

Elections/Nominations Committee

Members of this committee handle all nominations and election procedures. Committee members will also contact the nominated candidates prior to posting their names on the ballot to be sure they are willing to serve and to explain the duties and length of term to each potential candidate.   

Committee member duties: handle elections and nominations for new Staff Council members

Committee Members:
Adan Diaz - Chair
Cayse Wilson

Staff Development Committee

The Staff Development Committee members evaluate all funding/reimbursement requests according to established rules and ensure funds awarded are used for legitimate professional development purposes.

Committee member duties: review applications for Staff Development funds by email and approve/disapprove

Committee Members:
Haley McDaniel - Chair
Beth Collins
Adan Diaz

Kate Turner
Christy Morrison

Scholarship Committee (Campus specific)

The Scholarship Committee meets once a semester to review applications and determine award amounts. Members then communicate the committee’s decisions to Financial Aid in order to ensure funds are applied to the recipients’ accounts.

Events Committee (Campus Specific)

Members of the Events Committee organize various events held on the Dahlonega campus including White Christmas, Staff Appreciation Day, etc. Members also communicate with other committees to ensure whatever event needs they have are met. 

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top