Deleting a Folder
Sometimes you need to simplify your site structure or a folder is no longer needed if you are restructuring your site. Then it's time to delete a folder, and possibly all its contents
Note: If you need a folder renamed, contact the web team. The folder will need to be unpublished, renamed, republished, and pages with links to the content within that folder republished.
You will learn the steps to delete a folder.
What all am I deleting?
When you delete a folder, you are also deleting any subfolders and the content within those folders.
If you delete a folder with pages in it, will links break?
When you delete a folder, you are also deleting any subfolders and pages within those folders at the same time. So check the pages within the folder first.
Do you want to delete the page(s), too? If so, you'll need to check the relationships for each page (see Deleting a Page for more information on relationships).
Do you want to move the page(s)? Contact the web team. They will move the pages for you.
Deleting a folder
- In the left panel, click on the folder to be deleted. (You do not need to high the pages within the folder or any subfolders.)
- In the right panel, click the “More” tab.
- Select "Delete" from the drop-down.
- You will see a warning in the yellow box that you are about to delete a folder, along with any subfolders and contents within it.
- Click "Submit."
- Comments: Complete this section letting us know what you are doing. If there are pages being deleted in this process, let us know you checked the relationships so there won't be any broken links.
- Click "Submit."
- Access to either the training web site or as a web editor to your site.
- Cascade: Basic I training
- Understanding of relationships tab for pages to prevent broken links.