Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

Student achievements recognized with three award ceremonies

Steven Myung Student Award Ceremony
Steven Myung, a 25-year-old senior from Athens, Georgia, was the recipient of both the Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award and the Business Administration Excellence Award on the Oconee Campus.

Students who excelled in the classroom, in community engagement, leadership abilities, and other areas were recognized for their accomplishments in three award ceremonies April 10-12 on the University of North Georgia's (UNG) Dahlonega, Gainesville and Oconee campuses.

“Each year, the UNG community gathers to recognize the outstanding achievements of our students during our annual Honors and Awards ceremonies held across three campuses," said Dr. Tom Ormond, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs. "These ceremonies allow us to celebrate our students’ hard work, dedication, and academic excellence."

One of the students honored, Steven Myung was, by his own admission, a straight-A student in high school. After graduating from Oconee County High School in 2011, his plan was to put college on hold and figure out what to do with his life. Myung then took a job doing landscape work and helped his older brother launch his computer business. He pursued interests that he had never had time for in high school, like martial arts.

But college was never far from his mind. To that end, Myung enrolled at the University of North Georgia's (UNG) Oconee Campus in the fall of 2013, taking a few classes at a time.

"I found that college was a lot harder than high school, but I loved it more," Myung said. "College opened my eyes to the world around me. Different opinions, different arguments, different points of view, I just felt I was back in my element."

Myung, 25, said that he thrived at UNG's Oconee Campus.

"It was the perfect place for me to start college," he said.

Smaller class sizes and student population as well as faculty and staff helped him succeed. He became active in the campus Enactus Club, serving as vice president and then president. He participated in the Habitat for Humanity Club and a campus Bible study club.

"Steven has been an integral part of the Enactus business club on the Oconee campus, he did an amazing job at providing structure, direction, and feedback to all of the club’s team members, said Dr. Penelope Lyman, assistant professor of accounting and Enactus Club faculty advisor. "It has been a great pleasure getting to know Steven and watching him grow as a student and a leader.

This year Myung is the recipient of two awards. One is the 2018 Clark Theodore Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award, a campus-wide honor given to a student 25 years old or older who demonstrates excellence in academics, leadership and service during his or her time at UNG. It is the second time he has won the award. He is also the winner of the 2018 Business Administration Excellence Award, given by the Mike Cottrell College of Business.

Myung will graduate this spring with an associate degree and plans to transfer to the University of Georgia and pursue a bachelor's degree in business administration. He credits UNG for his college success.

"UNG really helped me get ahead in school," he said. "It got me involved in a lot of campus activities. I've made a lot of friends here, with the professors as well as the students. I feel so blessed to have come here."

Some notable awards included:

Dahlonega Campus

  • Kristin Cisewski received the Harvey E. Hawkins Citizenship Award for outstanding campus citizenship
  • Kalub Anderson received the Academic Recognition Day Scholar Award by the Georgia Board of Regents for his outstanding academic achievements
  • Brittaney Dyer was awarded the Newman Civic Fellow Award, for her demonstrated leadership and problem-solving abilities in her community
  • Matthew Caudell was awarded the H. Michael Hyams, Jr. Student Government Association Leadership Award for outstanding leadership

Gainesville Campus

  • Jessica Martin received the Clark Theodore Traditional Student Award, for excellence in academics, leadership and service
  • Aneta Galazka received the Clark Theodore Non-Traditional Student Award
  • John Blessing and William Harris were recognized for being named to the 2018-2019 All-Georgia Academic Team
  • Annah Coker received the Achievement Award for academic improvement, growth and progress

Oconee Campus

  • Renee Clement received the Outstanding Nighthawk Spirit Award, for demonstrating exceptional campus spirit
  • Nicholas Stenland was the recipient of the Emerging Student Leader Award, for demonstrated campus leadership abilities
  • Maria Anifowose received the Outstanding Service to the Campus/Community Award, for her exceptional commitment to campus and community
  • Beth Graham received the Outstanding Commitment to Diversity & Equity Award

A complete list of honorees at the Dahlonega, Gainesville and Oconee campuses are available here.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top