Back to Top
Utility Nav Top Nav Content News Nav Site Search
Close Main Menu

UNG Police Department awards officers for accomplishments

UNG Police awards 2019
UNG Police Chief swears in Cody Chambers and Rob Cherveny as officers at a March 27 event that also included awards and recognition of promotions.

The University of North Georgia (UNG) Police Department honored its own officers and a few fellow university employees March 27 for their work to keep the school's campuses safe throughout the past year.

"It's always a good opportunity to acknowledge the outstanding work that our officers do day in and day out," UNG Police Chief Justin Gaines said. "Otherwise no one would know. If we don't stop to exemplify their actions and their hard work, it's one of those things that would go thankless."

Capt. Dennis Dorsey earned the Award of Merit. Rob Cherveny, chief information security officer; Cole Edgar, information security operations manager; and Dillon Hutchinson, central dispatch coordinator, were also honored for their work helping the department.

Cherveny was one of two people to take the oath of office for UNG Police at the event after cross-training to earn police certification. Gaines said Cherveny's new certification coupled with his technical expertise means the university can more quickly investigate online-based cases.

Gaines emphasized the importance of the campus community's role in helping UNG Police do its job well so UNG's campuses can remain safe.

Dorsey, who has worked at UNG for four years following 20 years as a Winder, Georgia, police officer, expressed gratitude for the honor.

"A pat on the back is always nice. I like that these younger guys get to see it because it makes them want to do their job that much better," Dorsey said. "All of these guys probably did something in the past year that deserves recognition. I'm looking forward to having more events like this and seeing some of the younger guys get recognized."

Other award winners included:

  • Police Officer of the Year: Rusty Myers
  • Communications Officer of the Year: Anita Bookmiller
  • New Communications Officer of the Year: Kayla Williams
  • Police Commendation Award: Capt. Jayson Yarbrough, Capt. James Wright

Promotions noted at the meeting were:

  • Jayson Yarbrough from sergeant to captain (Gainesville)
  • Trent McGuffey from officer to sergeant (Dahlonega)
  • John Thompson from officer (Cumming) to sergeant (Gainesville)

In addition to Cherveny, the other officer to take the oath was Cody Chambers.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top