Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Memorial Wall on Dahlonega Campus

In 1982 the then-North Georgia College Alumni Council erected a Memorial to honor former students who were killed in the service of our country during time of war. As interest in the project increased, the concept was expanded to include a marker to record the names of students who died while enrolled.

On April 30, 1983, Dr. John H. Owen, President, of then-North Georgia College, and General William J. Livsey, Class of 1952, dedicated this Memorial.

In 1985, Mr. Robert L. Owens, Chairman of the Fine Arts Department, North Georgia College was commissioned to sculpture an eagle to be cast in bronze and added to the Memorial site. Mr. Chad Colley, Class of 1966, dedicated this eagle, “Freedom’s Vigil.”

This monument stands as a silent Memorial to those former students who died for their country to preserve the light of freedom, and to the memory of those enrolled students whose life was cut short. The names of those individuals are listed below. Wreaths and flowers are placed at Memorial Wall by contributors to the UNG Eagle Fund.

World War I

L. W. Boney
Thomas M. Brady
Joseph W. Cavender
H. B. Chestnut
R. C. Harlan
Milliard R. Lemon
C. R. Neal
Cula O. Newell
Charles Pendley
Thomas S. Teabeault
Henry G. Wood
William C. Wood
J. M. Woodall

World War II

Brantley Adams
Robert E. Adams
Robert T. Adams
Homer R. Barton
Paul Bass
Robert N. Bateman
Edward C. Billy
William R. Boling
Julian C. Booth
David E. Boyer
Paris D. Bray
Emerson W. Callaway
Nicholas D. Carpenter
Carl F. Chapman, Jr.
Alden J. Connell
Clifford Cook
James E. Corley
Wallace W. Corn
W. W. Cornog
Perry L. Crapps
Samuel A. Dance
James P. Davis, Jr.
Ted DeWeese
Sherman E. Dixon
Richard C. Dodson
Richard S. Dodson
Thomas F. Dorsey, Jr.
Charles R. Dunning
Alexander M. Durant, Jr.
James L. Dyar
David B. Edge
Lloyd E. Edwards
Robert O. Entzminger
Marion C. Farrar, Jr.
Herbert Fenster
Charles Fields
Guy Fitts, Jr.
Walter B. Forbes
Paul R. Fulton
John B. Gaddess
William C. Gamble
Charles C. Garrett
Walter B. Garrison
George H. Glenn
Hillyer C. Godfrey
Dana D. Goodwin, Jr.
Joe T. Grant
Jerome L. Haft
Calhoun J. Hall
George P. Hames
George T. Hammond
Elgin Hardin
Albert T. Harris
Marion A. Hatcher
Dana V. Hayes
James W. Hendon, Jr.
L. W. Honeycutt
Richard G. Hooten
Richard Horton
C. I. Humber
Lawton M. Jones
Ralph M. Jones
James D. Keefe
Houston D. Kemper
William P. Kendall
Fred M. King
James A. Lawrence
Fred H. League
Bertrand V. Levy
Waldo W. Lindsey
William T. Lipscomb
Lewis A. Matthews
William L. McArthur
Jess L. McKellar, Jr.
James W. Merriwether
Howard C. Miller
Joseph E. Moore
Bond Murray
Daniel Newbern
Clyde J. Nix
William F. Norris
Joseph J. Northcutt
Olin H. Palmer, Jr.
Benjamin F. Parks
Blakely A.Parrott
Wayne W. Patrick
Alva N. Pendergrass
Quenton O. Perkins
Amzi R. Quillian
Daniel B. Rhodes
Clarence C. Rosser
Daniel H. Senk
John C. Sheehan
James H. Smith
Ruby M. Smith
Thomas R. Smith
Wilson S. Smith
Roscoe S. Stallworth
Henry O. Stalnaker
Joe Stoddard
Guy O. Stone, Jr.
John W. Strickland
Lovic Swint, Jr.
Isham O. Teasley
Dallas G. Thacker
Daniel E. Thompson
John E. Timmons
Eugen Tindol
James W. Valentine
Cecil L. Vandiver
Thomas A. Wall
Edward H. Whiddon
John T. Whittle

Korean War

James S. Bramblett
Henry C. Camp
Jerry B. Dettmerring
Robert W. Duncan
Malcom A. Gibbs
John H. Haddock, Jr.
Lamar J. Jackson, Jr.
Charles J. James
Rufus H. Mahaffey, Jr.
James F. McCorkle
David L. Parmer
Charles Worley

Vietnam War

Earle J. Bemis
Burton A. Blanton
William A. Branch
Welborn A. Callahan, Jr.
Ralph D. Cordell
William C. Elrod
Robert W. Garth, Jr.
Walter M. Gibson
John E. Greene
Richard A. Gwinn
Joseph Hillman, III
William H. Hunt
Charles B. Johnson
Milo P. Johnson
Francis McDowall
Larron D. Murphy
Roy L. Murphy
John R. Pearson
Robert L. Phillips
Robert I. Rabb
Robert N. Sauls
Benny T. Stowers
Robert A. Thompson
Robert P. Tidwell
Charles R. Williams
David B. Wood
Gary C. Jones
Daniel R. Spurlin

Lost in Combat
(since 9/11/2001)

Thomas E. Vitagliano  -  Iraq
Charles H. Warren  -  Iraq
Jeremy A. Chandler  -  Afgh
Paul Saylor  -  Iraq
Mitch Young  -  Afgh
Kevin M. Jenrette  -  Afgh
Andrew H. McConnell  -  Afgh

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top