Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

Community Information & Recognition

FSL Awards & Recognition

Chapter Fraternity & Sorority Life Awards 19-20

Our Standards of Excellence program allows us to track chapters progress and efforts throughout the year. We use these reported numbers to determine the winners of the following categories.

Most Improved GPA

These chapters showed the most academic growth over the past year.

  • Delta Chi
  • Delta Phi Epsilon

Chapter Academic Excellence

These chapters achieved the highest GPAs over the past year.

  • Sigma Nu
  • Delta Zeta
  • Phi Sigma Pi

Leadership Excellence Award

These chapters used their talents for leadership widely on campus to achieve the highest percentage of membership in leadership positions on campus.

  • Kappa Sigma
  • Delta Phi Epsilon

Service Award

This is the chapter to completed the most service hours and hosted the most events that serve our community over the past year.

  • Gamma Sigma Sigma

Philanthropy Award

These are the chapters that raised the most charitable funds for their philanthropic cause.

  • Sigma Kappa
  • Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Sigma Nu
  • Sigma Chi

Community Engagement Award

These chapters were the most involved within the Fraternity and Sorority Life community and on the campus in general.

  • Pi Kappa Phi
  • Delta Zeta

Fraternity and Sorority of the Year

The Fraternity and Sorority of the Year is awarded to our chapters that achieved most highly across the board this past year.

Fraternity of the Year Winner

Pi Kappa Phi

Sorority of the Year Winner

Delta Phi Epsilon

Individual Fraternity & Sorority Life Awards 19-20

These awards recognize the accomplishments of individual students in the community for all of their hard work and dedication.

Advisor of the Year

These advisors have dedicated themselves to helping the undergraduate chapter achieve as highly as they can. They show constant support to the chapters.

  • Michelle Granger - Delta Zeta
  • Blake Hullett - Kappa Sigma

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader of the Year award seeks to recognize an emerging leader who: is in their first or second year of membership; has shown their commitment to their chapter through their involvement; and has a promising future in the chapter.

  • Lindsey Lawton - Sigma Kappa
  • Taylor Dolph - Pi Kappa Phi

Council Leader of the Year

These students who served on the Panhellenic and Interfraternity Councils and have provided exemplary leadership to lead the board and the community as a whole.

  • Jenn Ahlswede - Vice President of Recruitment Counselors
  • Alex Fernandez - Executive Vice President

Chapter President of the Year

These students led their chapters amazingly through the tough times and good. They guided their members through the year, dealing with obstacles and victories alike.

  • Alexis Halm - Sigma Kappa
  • Zarachy Lewis - Phi Delta Theta

Fraternal Legend Award

These students put their all into serving their chapters and the community. They went above and beyond to serve as leaders and guides for their peers and are being recognized for the contributions.

  • Shelby Davis - Phi Mu
  • Ben Middleton - Sigma Nu
  • Jesse Jenson - Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Walt Chapeau - Sigma Chi
  • Preston Kell - Kappa Sigma
  • Claire Allinson - Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Abby Stubbs - Phi Mu
  • Kyle Cruce - Pi Kappa Phi
  • Michael Laun - Phi Delta Theta
  • Taylor Bradberry - Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Sarah Hoover - Gamma Sigma Sigma
  • Becca Barnette - Delta Zeta
  • Kerrigan Ellington - Alpha Gamma Delta
  • Jacob McLean - Kappa Sigma

Fraternity Man and Sorority Woman of the Year

These students truly exemplified what it means to be a leader and good member of our community and campus. They serve as role models for the rest of the community and strive to push their peers forward.

  • Kristen Woodall - Sigma Kappa
  • Jacob McLean - Kappa Sigma

National Awards

Our chapters are recognized on a national level for their work. Below you’ll find the awards that were given to our chapters over the last year.

Pi Kappa Phi

  • Outstanding Governance, Recruitment Excellence, and the Master Chapter awards at Pi Kappa Phi’s College for Chapter Officers in January of 2019. The Master Chapter award is only given to the top 25% of Pi Kappa Phi chapters in the nation.
  • Chapter president, Justin Harper, was nominated for the Student Advisory Board for the national fraternity in March.
  • Josiah Hatch, Pi Kapp’s previous Vice President, was honored as the recipient of the Thomas W. Dalton, Jr. Scholarship.
  • The chapter's new member educator, Dillon Evans, was the recipient of the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation Scholarship for Academic Excellence in April, which is the most prestigious scholarship in the fraternity and is only awarded to seven students in the entire nation for the year.

Phi Mu

Phi Mu received the Academic Excellence award for earning the highest Panhellenic GPA for both semesters last year, having 90% of members in academic good standing each semester, and 20% of members achieving a GPA above a 3.5.

Phi Sigma Pi

C.H. Mclure Signa Service Award at their national convention this past summer for the 2018-2019 academic year. This award is given to the chapter with the most impactful service event in alignment with their mission “improving humanity with honor.” The chapter earned this award due to their Thanksgiving Service event, in which they prepared meals for families in need in our community.

Kappa Sigma

Kappa Sigma was awarded the:
  • Chapter Academic Excellence Award
  • Ritual Proficiency Award

Gamma Sigma Sigma

  • Most Outstanding Chapter within their district for excellence in their inter-chapter activity, participation in national and local philanthropy and service events, and overall communication.
  • The “Sweetest Chapter” by the other chapters in their district for embodying the spirit and dedication of Gamma Sigma Sigma above and beyond expectations.

Delta Zeta

  • Five honorable mentions from their national organization last summer.
  • The Outstanding Organization of the year at UNG’s Blue and Gold Awards.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top