Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

About UNG Faculty Senate


The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to provide a systematic means of recommending policy matters to the president and to the faculty as described in Board of Regents Policy 3.2.4. The Faculty Senate has the responsibility to create and maintain a university committee structure that supports the mission of the institution and shared governance. Representatives of the Faculty Senate will be included in the committees for strategic planning and budget processes to support the success of the academic mission of the university. The Senate shall define the purpose and membership of statutory, standing, and special committees under the purview of the Senate as described by its bylaws. The Faculty Senate shall be the body to which the statutory, standing, and special committees of the Faculty Senate shall report their activities and these reports will provide counsel to the president and other administrators.


The Faculty Senate of the University of North Georgia (UNG) began in January 2013 upon the creation of the new university from the consolidation of Gainesville State College and North Georgia College & State University. This Faculty Senate represents a continuation of the practice of faculty governance at both of those institutions.

UNG Faculty Senate Chairs

  • Jamie Mitchem - 2019 - present
  • Kelly McFaden - 2016 - 2019
  • George Danns - 2015 - 2016
  • Mark Spraker - 2013 - 2015

Previous Faculty Senate Chairs

NGCSU Faculty Senate Chairs/CEOs

  • Mark Spraker - 2012-2013
  • Robert Fuller - 2010-2012
  • Elizabeth Combier - 2007-2010
  • Bud Reiselt - 2006-2007
  • Robert Fuller - 2004-2006
  • Jimmy Woods - 2000-2004
  • Donna Gessell - 1998-2000
  • Linda Roberts-Betsch - 1995-1998
  • Terry McLeod - 1994-1995

GSC Faculty Senate Chairs

  • Robert Guyton - 2012-2013
  • Jeff Marker - 2011-2012
  • Dave Slutzky - 2010-2011
  • Rebecca Homan - 2009-2010
  • Jerry Graveman - 3/2009-5/2009
  • Kerry Stewart - 2007-3/2009
  • Jerry Graveman - 2006-2007
  • Mike Ryan - 2005-2006
  • Brian Kline - 2004-2005
  • Susann Doyle-Portillo - 2000-2002

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.
Please note that some of the images and videos on our site may have been taken before social distancing, face coverings and restricted gatherings were required.

Back to Top