Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu

IRB Contact Information

Primary Contact Information

Dr. Troy A. Smith
Assistant Director for Research Compliance / IRB Chair 
E-mail: irbchair@ung.edu
Phone: 678-717-3670

Mailing Address:

University of North Georgia
3820 Mundy Mill Rd 
Oakwood, GA 30566

Note: The UNG IRB Bylaws can be found in the UNG Faculty Handbook.

Spring 2018 IRB Committee
Name College Campus Position* Email
Tamirat Abegaz Business Dahlonega SC2 tamirat.abegaz@ung.edu
Shelley Aikman Arts & Letters Gainesville SC2 shelley.aikman@ung.edu
Sharon Chalmers Health Sciences & Professions Dahlonega SC3 sharon.chalmers@ung.edu
Sanghee Choi Education Dahlonega SC2 sanghee.choi@ung.edu
Janice Crook-Hill Science & Mathematics Dahlonega SC2 janice.crook-hill@ung.edu
Carolynn DeSandre Health Sciences & Professions Dahlonega SC1 Chair carolynn.desandre@ung.edu
James (Tom) Diggs Science & Mathematics Gainesville SC1 james.diggs@ung.edu
Stanley Han Business Oconee SC1 yongseung.han@ung.edu
Sheri Hardee Education Gainesville SC2 Chair sheri.hardee@ung.edu
Michele Hill Arts & Letters Dahlonega SC3 Chair michele.hill@ung.edu
Andrew Jakiel Education Dahlonega SC1 andrew.jakiel@ung.edu
Brian Mann Arts & Letters Dahlonega Full Board (designated non-scientist) d.brian.mann@ung.edu
Eunse Park Health Sciences & Professions Dahlonega SC2 eunse.park@ung.edu
Joel Potter Business Dahlonega SC3 joel.potter@ung.edu
Cenate Pruitt Arts & Letters Gainesville SC1 cenate.pruitt@ung.edu
Troy Smith Office of Research & Engagement Gainesville Chair – Full Board
Patty Wagner Science & Mathematics Dahlonega SC3 patty.wagner@ung.edu
Tony Zschau Arts & Letters Dahlonega SC3 toralf.zschau@ung.edu
Vacant N/A N/A Outside Member

NOTE: *SC … stands for subcommittee. The IRB consists of three subcommittees- each with representatives from the different colleges. The subcommittees handle all incoming IRB applications and make recommendations to the IRB chair with respect to the required level of review, approval status, and request for additional information/clarification.

UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top