Back to Top
Skip to Site Search Skip to Utility Nav Skip to Top Nav Skip to Left Nav Skip to Content
Close Main Menu


The Honors Program provides partial stipends for study abroad on a competitive basis. Students should contact their campus director for more information.

Presidential Scholarships

The Choate Family Presidential Scholarship, the William P. Roberts Presidential Scholarship, and the Alexander Brevard Russell Scholarship are awarded competitively to the most academically qualified incoming freshmen.

Incoming first-year students accepted into the UNG Honors Program are automatically considered for these scholarships. Three to four students are selected each year for these awards.

Scholars receive up to $1,000 per year, renewable for up to four years of study, depending on degree track. At present, Presidential Scholarships are available on the Dahlonega Campus only.

Scholarship Renewal
Presidential Scholarships are available for up to 12 semesters, renewed annually, provided recipients meet the following:
  • Be enrolled in and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester (fall and spring)
  • Maintain good standing in the Honors Program
Notification of Awards

Recipients of Presidential Scholarships will be notified by March 15.

If you have any questions, please send an email to

Current Recipient

Choate Family Presidential Scholarship

Scholarship recipient Melanie Mead

Melony Mead

Melony Marie Mead is the fall 2017 winner of the Choate Scholarship. Melony is a science major on the Dahlonega campus. Before coming to UNG, she spent the summer working on a fishing vessel off of Alaska's Aleutian chain.


UNG follows Section 508 Standards and WCAG 2.0 for web accessibility. If you require the content on this web page in another format, please contact the ADA Coordinator.

Back to Top